American Society of Addiciton Medicine

The R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award

Awards & Scholarships

The R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award

The R. Brinkley Smithers and Distinguished Scientist Award and Lecture - established in 1995 as a lasting tribute to R. Brinkley Smithers who influenced American alcoholism policy, theory and treatment. Through his dedication and philanthropy, he created a far greater understanding of this treatable disease.

The Award recognizes and honors an individual who has made highly meritorious contributions in advancing the scientific understanding of addiction, its prevention and treatment.


The Christopher D. Smithers Foundation


  • Medallion
  • Plaque
  • $1,000 Stipend
  • Award Lecture
  • ASAM Annual Conference registration
  • Roundtrip Air Fare to attend ASAM Annual Conference
  • 2 Nights Lodging to attend ASAM Annual Conference

Submission Information

Award Presentation

Presented at ASAM's Opening Plenary Session during The ASAM Annual Conference

Past Award Recipients

2021 Gail D’Onofrio, MD, MS, FACEM, FASAM
2020 Hendree Jones, PhD
2019 Bankole Johnson, DSc, MD
2018 Michael E. Charness, MD
2017 Barbara Mason, PhD
2016 William Miller, PhD
2015 George F. Koob, PhD
2014 Shelly Greenfield, MD, MPH
2013 Joseph Westermeyer, MD, PhD, MPH
2012 Richard Saitz, MD, MPH
2011 George E. Vaillant, MD
2010 Marc Galanter, MD
2009 Thomas F. Babor, PhD, MPH
2008 Ralph W. Hingson, ScD., MPH
2007 Lee Ann Kaskutas, Dr. PH
2006 Rudolf H. Moos, PhD
2005 Herbert D. Kleber, MD
2004 [no recipient]
2003 A. Thomas McLellan, PhD
2002 Denise B. Kandel, PhD
2001 Charles P. O'Brien, MD, PhD
2000 Marc A. Schuckitt, MD
1999 Mary Jeanne Kreek, MD
1998 Lee N. Robins, PhD
1997 Ting-Kai Li, MD
1996 Charles S. Lieber, MD
1995 Harold Kalant, MD, PhD
1994 Samuel B. Guze, MD
1993 Floyd E. Bloom, MD
1992 Avram Goldstein, MD
1991 Vincent P. Dole, MD