American Society of Addiciton Medicine

Public Policy Award

Awards & Scholarships

Public Policy Award

The Public Policy Award honors an individual who has effectively advanced public policies that promote the health of Americans, especially persons with addictions; addiction medicine physicians; the education of physicians and medical trainees regarding substance use and addiction; or recognition of the practice of addiction medicine.


Past Award Recipients

2023 Jeffrey A. Selzer, MD, DFASAM
2022 Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) & Senator Mike Braun (R-IN)
2021 Rep. David McKinley (R-WV) & Rep. Lori Trahan (D-MA)
2020 Senator Brittany Pettersen
2019 Senator Rob Portman; Congresswoman Katherine Clark
2018 Jay Butler, MD
2017 Governor Peter Shumlin
2016 Hal Rogers
2015 Michael P. Botticelli
2014 Paul Tonko
2013 H. Westley Clark, MD, JD, MPH, CAS, DFASAM
2012 A. Thomas McLellan, PhD