American Society of Addiciton Medicine

Media Award

Awards & Scholarships

Media Award

The ASAM Media Award is presented each year for excellence in print or electronic journalism. The Award is bestowed for a newspaper, magazine, television, radio or website story, column, or program that improves the public's understanding of addiction, addiction treatment, recovery, or the profession of addiction medicine.


  • Plaque
  • ASAM Annual Conference registration
  • Roundtrip Air Fare to attend ASAM Annual Conference
  • 2 Nights Lodging to attend ASAM Annual Conference

Nomination Requirements

  • Nominee's one-page biographical sketch
  • Nominee's CV

Award Presentation

Presented at The ASAM Annual Conference

Past Award Recipients

2021 Claudia Black, MSW, PhD & Navdeep Kang, PsyD, HSP, CGP
2020 Jarrett J. Krosoczka
2019 Beth Macy
2018 Ellen Goosenberg-Kent for her HBO documentary, Risky Drinking
2017 David Sheff, for his book, "Clean: Overcoming Addiction + Ending America's Greatest Tragedy"
2016 Leslie Glass, for her documentary, The Secret World of Recovery 
2015 Bess O'Brien, for her documentary, The Hungry Heart
2014 Greg Williams, for his documentary, Anonymous People
2013 [no recipient]
2012 William Moyers, Sr. & Judith Moyers for their TV series "Close to Home"
2011 Dirk Wales for his DVD series "Wearing Masks"
2010 Eric Newhouse for his book "Alcohol: Cradle to Grave"
2009 [no recipient]
2008 John Hoffman for his HBO series "ADDICTION"