American Society of Addiciton Medicine

The John P. McGovern Award On Addiction And Society

Awards & Scholarships

The John P. McGovern Award On Addiction And Society

The John P. McGovern MD Award and Lecture on Addiction and Society - established in 1997 to recognize and honor an individual who has made highly meritorious contributions to public policy, treatment, research, or prevention which has increased our understanding of the relationship of addiction and society. The Award is sponsored by an endowment from the John P. McGovern Foundation.


  • Medallion
  • Plaque
  • $1,000 Stipend
  • Award Lecture
  • ASAM Annual Conference registration
  • Roundtrip Air Fare to attend ASAM Annual Conference
  • 2 Nights Lodging to attend ASAM Annual Conference

Nomination Requirements

  • Nominee's one-page biographical sketch
  • Nominee's CV

Award Presentation

Presented at The ASAM Annual Conference

Past Award Recipients

2022 Kelly J. Clark, MD, MBA, DFAPA, DFASAM
2021 Margaret A. Jarvis, MD, DFASAM
2020 Penny S. Mills, MBA
2019 Michael Miller, MD, DLFAPA, DFASAM
2018 John Renner, MD, DFASAM
2017 David Mee-Lee, MD, FASAM
2016 Carol McDaid
2015 Mark S. Gold, MD, DFASAM
2014 Paul N. Samuels, JD
2013 Nora D. Volkow, MD
2012 David R. Gastfriend, MD
2011 A. Thomas McLellan, PhD
2010 David L. Rosenbloom, PhD
2009 Congressman Patrick J. Kennedy, D-RI
2008 H. Westley Clark, MD, JD, MPH, DFASAM
2007 William L. White
2006 Carlo C. DiClemente, PhD
2005 Congressman James Marvin "Jim" Ramstad, R-MN
2004 [no recipient]
2003 David C. Lewis, MD
2002 Monsignor William B. O'Brien
2001 Beny J. Primm, MD
2000 Betty Ford, Former First Lady of the United States
1999 Robert L. DuPont, MD, DFASAM
1998 Daniel J. Anderson, PhD