American Society of Addiciton Medicine

Annual Award

Awards & Scholarships

Annual Award

The Annual Award recognizes and honors an individual for outstanding contributions to the growth and vitality of ASAM, for thoughtful leadership in the field, and for deep understanding of the art and science of Addiction Medicine." and " for expanding the frontiers of the field of Addiction Medicine and broadening our understanding of the addictive process, through research and innovation."

Past Award Recipients

2023 Michael F. Weaver, MD, DFASAM
2022 Timothy J. Wiegand, MD, FACMT, FAACT, DFASAM
2021 Martha J. Wunsch, MD, FAAP, DFASAM
2020 Marvin D. Seppala, MD, PC, FASAM
2019 William F. Haning, III, MD, DFAPA, DFASAM
2018 Stuart Gitlow, MD, MPH, MBA, DFAPA, DFASAM; Scott Teitelbaum, MD, DFASAM
2017 Louis E. Baxter, Sr., MD, DFASAM; Mark R. Publicker, MD, DFASAM
2016 Herbert Malinoff, MD, FACP, DFASAM
2015 H. Westley Clark, MD, JD, MPH, CAS, DFASAM; Paul H. Earley, MD, DFASAM; Richard K. Ries, MD, FAPA, DFASAM
2014 Edwin A. Salsitz, MD, DFASAM
2013 Michael M. Miller, MD, DFASAM; Carlton Erickson, PhD
2012 Elizabeth F. Howell, MD, DFASAM, DFAPA; Gerald D. Shulman, MA, FACATA
2011 Kevin Kunz, MD, MPH, DFASAM; Marc Galanter, MD, DFASAM
2010 A. Kenison Roy, III, MD, DFASAM, DFAPA; David E. Smith, MD, DFASAM; Laura F. McNicholas, MD, PhD
2009 Lawrence S. Brown, Jr., MD, MPH, DFASAM; Nora D. Volkow, MD
2008 Robert L. Dupont, MD, DFASAM; David A. Fiellin, MD
2007 James F. Callahan, DPA; Jerome H. Jaffe, MD
2006 James W. Smith, MD, DFASAM; Barry Stimmel, MD, DFASAM; Larry Gentilello, MD, FACS
2005 Anne Geller, MD, DFASAM; Walter Ling, MD
2004 Andrea G. Barthwell, MD, DFASAM; Alan I. Leshner, PhD
2003 [no recipient]
2002 J. Thomas Payte, MD; George F. Koob, PhD
2001 Anthony B. Radcliffe, MD, DFASAM; Enoch Gordis, MD
2000 William B. Hawthorne, MD; C. Robert Cloninger, MD
1999 LeClair Bissell, MD; Sheila B. Blume, MD; Herbert D. Kleber, MD
1998 David Mee-Lee, MD; John Slade, MD; Stanton A. Glantz, PhD
1997 Maxwell N. Weisman, MD; George Lundberg, MD
1996 John B. Griffin, Jr., MD; Jack E. Henningfield, PhD
1995 Jess W. Bromley, MD; Edward C. Senay, MD; Emanuel M. Steindler
1994 Jasper G. Chen See, MD; Henri Begleiter, MD, PhD
1993 Max. A. Schneider, MD; Floyd Bloom, MD
1992 Loretta P. Finnegan, MD
1991 G. Douglas Talbott, MD
1990 Stanley E. Gitlow, MD
1989 Charles S. Lieber, MD
1988 [no recipient]
1987 Ruth Little, PhD; Ann Streissguth, PhD
1986 C. Everett Koop, MD
1985 Donald W. Goodwin, MD; John A. Ewing, MD
1984 Max M. Glatt, MD
1983 [no recipient]
1982 Vernelle Fox, MD; George Vaillant, MD
1981 Frank A. Seixas, MD
1980 Charles S. Davidson, MD
1979 Willard P. Arentzen, MD
1978 Jean-Pierre von Wartburg, MD
1977 Eward A. Swinyard, PhD; Chester A. Swinyard, MD
1976 Ebbe Curtis Hoff, MD
1975 [no recipient]
1974 John L. Norris, MD
1973 Ruth Fox, MD
1972 Marvin A. Block, MD; Ruth Fox, MD