The Taskforce

COVID-19 - Clinical Guidance Task Force

ASAM Clinical Guidance Task Force

COVID-19 was declared a world pandemic on March 11.  Patients with addiction are a vulnerable population with unique challenges in light of COVID-19.  Many patients with addiction have other co-occurring conditions and depending on the severity of their disease and access to economic and social support, such individuals may cycle in and out of emergency departments, addiction treatment centers, homeless shelters and other facilities.  These circumstances pose unique challenges regarding COVID-19 transmission and the severity of the illness if contracted by patients with SUD. At the very least proper attention to infectious disease issues will decrease the infection rate among this population and their families.

This Task Force is charged to develop guidance resources for clinicians to use as they sort out how to handle the impact of COVID-19 on their practice and in the treatment of patients with addiction.

As of: 4/17/20

Task Force Members

Yngvild Olsen, MD, MPH, DFASAM Chair

Kelly Clark, MD, MBA, DFAPA, DFASAM Vice Chair


Anika Alvanzo, MD, MS, FACP, DFASAM

Gregory X. Boehm, MD, DFASAM

Chris Bundy, MD, MPH, FASAM

Megan Buresh, MD

Chinazo O. Cunningham, MD, MS, FASAM

Itai Danovitch, MD, MBA, FAPA, DFASAM

Laura Fanucchi, MD, MPH, FASAM

Kevin Fiscella, MD, MPH. FASAM

David Goodman, MD

P. Bradley Hall, MD, DABAM, DFASAM

Scott L. Hambleton, MD, DFASAM

Brian Hurley, MD, MBA, DFASAM

Margaret A. Jarvis, MD, DFASAM

Hendree Jones, PhD

Sarah Kawasaki, MD, FASAM

Bobby P. Kearney, MD, FASAM

George Kolodner, MD, DLFAPA, FASAM

Miriam Komaromy, MD, FACP, DFASAM

Ilse Levin, DO, MPH&TM, FACP

Marjorie Meyer, MD

Julio Meza, MD

Lewis Nelson, MD, FASAM

Cara A. Poland, MD, MEd, DFASAM

Alexis Polles, MD

Shawn Ryan, MD, MBA, FASAM

Elizabeth Salisbury-Afshar, MD, MPH, FAAFP, FACPM, DFASAM

Jasleen Salwan, MD, MPH

Jessie Schaumburg, MD

Lea Selitsky, MD

Jeffrey Selzer, MD, DFASAM

Nishant Shah, MD

Robert C. Sherrick, MD, FASAM

Mishka Terplan, MD, MPH, FACOG, DFASAM

Kinna Thakarar, MD, DO, MPH, FASAM

Paul Trowbridge, MD

Corey Waller, MD, MS, DFASAM, FACEP

Sarah Wakeman, MD, FASAM

Tricia Wright, MD, MS, FACOG, DFASAM

Content Reviewers

Kelly Clark, MD, MBA, DFAPA, DFASAM Vice Chair

Paul Earley, MD, DFASAM ASAM President


Margaret Jarvis, MD, DFASAM

Yngvild Olsen, MD, MPH, DFASAM Chair

ASAM Staff

Maureen Boyle, PhD

Kelly Corredor, JD

Anna Garbar

Nailah Harrell

Leigh Hause-Alvarado, MBA, LMHC

Zach Semple