Recognizing Commitment to the Field


In 1996, the Fellows program was developed to celebrate the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the field of Addiction Medicine. Since the program inception in 1996, more than 300 physicians have been awarded Fellow status by ASAM.

In April 2015, the Board of Directors voted to create a new Fellow member category and designation, while the original Fellow award was changed to Distinguished Fellow.

2021 Applications Now Open - Submission Deadline August 31, 2020.

Preview a list of our current Distinguished Fellows

fellows log

Fellow Designation - Recognizing Board Certification

ASAM’s new Fellow membership category gives recognition to and raises awareness of ASAM members who are board certified addiction specialists. ASAM Fellows are able to use the FASAM designation after their name and use the special ASAM Fellow logo on certain pre-authorized items.

Fellow Membership is open to physicians who have been a member of the Society for at least two (2) consecutive years, and who are certified by the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM), the American Board of Preventive Medicine (ABPM), the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) or the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) in Addiction Psychiatry. 

Distinguished Fellow - A Prestigious Distinction 

ASAM and the Board of Directors recognize these elite professionals as "Distinguished Fellows" due to their significant contributions to the field of addiction medicine, and work as outstanding, prominent, and distinguished professionals in the medical community. These professionals have been "uniquely" singled out for special distinction within the field.

Authorized members may employ the DFASAM designation after their names as a mark of distinction and to provide a description of their unique position. The designation represents "Distinguished Fellow, American Society of Addiction Medicine." 

Distinguished Fellows are chosen based upon an outstanding and long sustained demonstration of top-ranking competence in the field of addiction medicine, exceptional professionalism, consummate integrity, demonstrated service, significant contribution, and noted leadership.

Apply Today!

For more information and to submit your application, please click here.