The Public Policy Award honors is an elected official (federal, state, local) each year who has effectively advanced public policies that promote the health of Americans, especially persons with addictions; addiction medicine physicians; the education of physicians and medical trainees regarding substance use and addiction; or recognition of the practice of addiction medicine.


  • Plaque
  • Award Lecture
  • ASAM Annual Conference registration
  • Roundtrip Air Fare to attend ASAM Annual Conference
  • 2 Nights Lodging to attend ASAM Annual Conference

Submission Information


October 31, 2019

Award Presentation

Presented at ASAM's Policy Plenary Session during The ASAM Annual Conference

Past Award Recipients

2018 Jay Butler, MD
2017 Governor Peter Shumlin
2016 Hal Rogers
2015 Michael P. Botticelli
2014 Paul Tonko
2013 H. Westley Clark, MD, JD, MPH, CAS, DFASAM
2012 A. Thomas McLellan, PhD

Call for 2020 Award Nominations - Apply Now

Submission Deadline: October 31, 2019

Award Criteria, Application Processes and Past Recipients: