The ASAM Educator of the Year Award recognizes and honors an educator who has made outstanding contributions to ASAM's addiction medicine education.


Medical Education Council


  • Plaque
  • ASAM Annual Conference registration
  • Roundtrip Air Fare to attend ASAM Annual Conference
  • 2 Nights Lodging to attend ASAM Annual Conference

Nomination Requirements

  • Nominee's one-page biographical sketch
  • Nominee's CV


The Medical Education Council (MEC) will consider all potential nominees with a broad perspective on the meaning of educational contributions and will consider speakers, content developers, mentors, planners, and faculty members who were involved with live, online or blended learning.

Submission Information

Award Presentation

Presented at The ASAM Annual Conference

Past Award Recipients

2020 Petros Levounis, MD, MA, DFASAM
2019 Miriam S. Komaromy, MD, FACP, DFASAM
2018 Edwin A. Salsitz, MD, DFASAM
2017 Peter L. Selby, MBBS, CCFP, FCFP, MHSc, DFASAM
2016 Daniel P. Alford, MD, MPH, FACP, DFASAM

Award Criteria, Application Processes and Past Recipients: