Annual Awards Luncheon


Saturday, April 16, 2016
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm 
Price: $75/Per Person

The ASAM Annual Awards Luncheon is an opportunity to honor those making notable contributions to the field of addiction medicine and policy. Draw insight and inspiration from the outstanding award winners. Celebrate with the 2016 Distinguished Fellows.

Carol McDaid, recipient of the John P. McGovern Award, will address the luncheon attendees with her presentation entitled “Recent Developments on the Road to Parity Implementation.”

Tickets to The ASAM Annual Award Luncheon are not included in registration and require a separate fee of $75 per ticket. Those who wish to attend will need to purchase a ticket by selecting the option on the registration form.

Award Winners

Carol McDaid-online-photo

John P. McGovern Award
Carol McDaid


R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award Winner 
William Miller, PhD


ASAM Public Policy Award 
Congressman Hal Rogers


ASAM Annual Award 
Herbert Malinoff, MD, FACP, DFASAM


 2016 Media Award - Documentary 
Leslie Glass 



ASAM Annual Conference Program Planning Committee Award 
Sarah Wakeman, MD, FASAM

Smita Das-online-photo

Young Investigator Award 
Smitas Das, MD, PhD, MPH


ASAM Educator of the Year 
Daniel P. Alford, MD, MPH, FACP, DFASAM

Governor Larry Hogan

Presidential Award 
Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Maryland Governor

Timothy Wiegand

ASAM/Millennium Research Institute Annual Conference Program Committee Award 
Timothy Wiegand, MD, FACMT, FAACT

Rachel Sussman

ASAM/Millennium Research Institute Fellowship Award
Rachel Sussman, MD, MA

Paul Trowbridge - Late Breaking Award

ASAM Late-Breaking Abstract Award
Paul Trowbridge, MD, MPH