Course Faculty

ASAM has assembled a distinguished faculty of experts in pain management and addiction medicine to deliver ER/LA Opioid REMS courses. Many of the faculty members are members of the REMS Planning Committee, who worked closely on the development and presentation of the first 4-hour REMS Course, launched on April 25, 2013.

Edwin A. Salsitz, MD, DFASAM, ChairSalsitz Photo ER/LA Online

Dr. Edwin A. Salsitz has been an attending physician in the Beth Israel Medical Center, Division of Chemical Dependency, since 1983, and is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.  He is the principal investigator of the Methadone Medical Maintenance (office-based methadone maintenance) research project. Dr. Salsitz is certified by the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM), as well as by the Board of Internal Medicine and Pulmonary Disease. He has published and lectures frequently on addiction medicine topics.

Dr. Salsitz is the recipient of the 2014 ASAM Annual Award for outstanding leadership in education programs. He serves as the chair of the ASAM ER/LA Opioid REMS course. Dr. Salsitz is a course director for ASAM sponsored buprenorphine trainings, and is a mentor in the PCSS mentoring program. He has co-chaired of the ASAM Review Course, the ASAM Common Threads Course, the ASAM State of the Art Course and is a reviewer for the Journal of Addiction Medicine. Dr. Salsitz is the Co-chair of the ASAM CME committee and Chair of the New York Society of Addiction Medicine CME and Education Committee. Dr. Salsitz is also a member of the medical advisory panel for the New York State Office of Alcohol and Substance Abuse Services.

Herbert Malinoff, MD, FACP, DFASAM, Vice- ChairHerbert Malinoff, MD

Dr. Malinoff is the president and founder of Pain Recovery Solutions, PC. He began this private practice in 1999. He is certified in internal medicine, medical oncology, pain management, and addiction medicine. He specializes in treating patients with chronic pain syndromes, addiction as well as addressing their internal medicine needs.

Dr. Malinoff received his MD degree from the University of Michigan. He trained in internal medicine in Chicago, and completed fellowships in hematology/oncology and nuclear medicine at the University of Michigan. He is an Associate in healthcare risk management and quality review.

Dr. Malinoff lectures internationally on chronic pain and addiction. He is chairman of the Program Planning Committee for ASAM's annual Pain & Addiciton Course. He is a Fellow of both ASAM and the American College of Physicians. He is the immediate past-president of the Michigan Society of Addiction Medicine. Dr. Malinoff is an attending physician at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ypsilanti and is on the faculty of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Michigan Medical Center.

Kirk Moberg, MD, PhD, FASAMKirk Moberg

Dr. Moberg has served as medical director of three addiction recovery centers, currently the Illinois Institute for Addiction Recovery in Peoria, IL. He also serves as Clinical Professor in the departments of Internal Medicine and Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine at UICOM. He holds extensive accomplishments in managing healthcare quality and outcomes; implementing performance improvement and project management methods; managing hospital, medical group, and managed care operations. He is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine, the American Board of Addiction Medicine and the Certifying Commission for Medical Management.

He is a member of the board of the Illinois Society of Addiction Medicine and the National Rural Association for Alcohol and Drug Abuse, Inc. Dr. Moberg also serves on the Advisory Committee of the Illinois Professional Health Program.

R. Corey Waller, MD, MS, FACEPRCWaller ER/LA Online

Dr. Waller received a master’s degree in neuromolecular biology from Texas State University followed by an MD at The University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio. He was residency trained in emergency medicine at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia. He is board certified in addiction medicine and is currently board eligible in pain medicine. He currently holds positions as the Director of the Center for Integrative Medicine, SUD Medical Director for Network180 (Community Mental Health) and is the acting Chief for the Division of Pain Management at Spectrum Health Hospitals in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Dr. Waller is also the Vice Chair of the Pain & Addiction Program Planning Committee.

Yngvild Olsen, MD, MPH OlsenPhoto online

Dr. Yngvild Olsen currently serves as the Medical Director for the Institutes for Behavior Resources Inc/ REACH Health Services and as a consultant on integrated care initiatives in Baltimore City. She previously served as the Vice President of Clinical Affairs and Medical Director for the Baltimore Substance Abuse System, Inc. (bSAS). In addition, she held positions as the Deputy Health Officer and Medical Director for the Harford Country Health Department, and Medical Director for the Johns Hopkins Hospital's outpatient substance abuse treatment services while a full-time faculty member a the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. 

Dr. Olsen is a graduate of Harvard Medical School, did her residency training in Internal Medicine at Boston University's Boston Medical Center, and received Masters in Public Health from the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health. She is also certified by the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM). Throughout her career, Dr. Olsen has written and lectured extensively on addiction, opioid dependence, and co-morbid medical issues, including chronic pain. 

Theodore V. Parran, Jr., MD, FACPT.Parren Photo ER/LA Online

Dr. Ted Parran is a 1974 graduate from Hawken School, a 1978 graduate with honors in History from Kenyon College and a 1982 graduate from Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. He completed a residency in internal medicine at the Baltimore City Hospital of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Following his residency, Dr. Parran was selected to be the Medical Chief Resident.

Dr. Parran pursues several areas of special interest in medical education including doctor–patient communication, faculty development, continuing medical education, and addiction medicine. Dr. Parran is also certified by the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM) and is widely published and has been an invited speaker at national and international conferences. 

He established the Addiction Fellowship Program at CWRU School of Medicine in 1994 and teaches on the Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship faculty.  Dr. Parran is the co-director of the Foundations of Clinical Medicine Course, a course with topics which touch on the doctor–patient relationship, health disparities, professionalism, cultural competence and health policy.  He is the medical director of the Program in Continuing Medical Education, and in 2007 was named as the Isabel and Carter C. T. Wang, M.D. Professor of Medical Education, all at CWRU School of Medicine.