FOAM-header-echo

FAME Video Conferencing Series

The Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine ECHO (FAME) series is a 16-week video conference series for primary care physicians and clinicians that addresses various topics in the field of addiction medicine.

The ECHO video conferencing model is used to connect participants with a panel of multi-disciplinary addiction experts. Sessions are 2 hours each. The first 30 minutes is devoted to a didactic presentation on a featured addiction related topic. See below for a complete list of dates and topics.

Participants of the ASAM Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine 40-Hour Program will automatically receive information about the FAME series. For all those not registered for the program, please click the link below to sign up to participate!

 

Sign Up for FAME

FAME Video-Conferencing Sessions

Each series will run for 16 weeks.


The current series will run March 6, 2020 - June 26, 2020 and will be held every Friday at:

  • 11:00 am - 1:00 pm (Eastern)
  • 10:00 am - 12:00 pm (Central)
  • 9:00 am - 11:00 am (Mountain)
  • 8:00 am - 10:00 am (Pacific)

The next series* will begin July 21, 2020 - November 3, 2020 and will be held every Tuesday at: 

  • 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm (Eastern)
  • 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm (Central)
  • 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm (Mountain)
  • 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm (Pacific)

 

(Sign ups for the next series will begin when the final schedule of topics is announced!)

Current Series - March 6, 2020 - June 26, 2020

Dates for topics listed below subject to change based on presenter availability.

Date

Topic

March 6, 2020

Overview of the Opioid Epidemic
Miriam Komaromy, MD (Curriculum Chair)
Grayken Center for Addiction, MA   
       

March 13, 2020

Recovery Management
Angela Colistra, PhD, LPC
Lehigh Valley Health Network, PA

March 20, 2020

Stigmatizing Language
Miriam Komaromy, MD (Curriculum Chair)
Grayken Center for Addiction, MA

March 27, 2020

Challenges in Office Management of OUD: Drug Screening
Rachel King, MD
South Boston Comm Health Center, MA

April 3, 2020

NO SESSION 

April 10, 2020

Motivational Interviewing, Part 1
Jennifer Hettema, PhD
University of New Mexico, NM

April 17, 2020

Motivational Interviewing, Part 2
Jennifer Hettema, PhD
University of New Mexico, NM

April 24, 2020

Buprenorphine and Naltrexone for Opioid Use Disorder
Miriam Komaromy, MD (Curriculum Chair)
Grayken Center for Addiction, MA   

May 1, 2020

Overdose Prevention & Harm Reduction
Alexander Walley, MD
Boston University, MA

May 8, 2020

Methadone
Peter Selby, MBBS
Center for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada

May 15, 2020

Drug Use in Pregnancy
Leslie Hayes, MD
Centro Family Health, NM

May 22, 2020

Treatment of SUDs in Adolescents
Catherine Friedman, MD
Warren Alpert Brown Medical School, MA

May 29, 2020

Alcohol Use Disorder Part 1
Shanna Diaz, DO
University of New Mexico, NM

June 5, 2020

Alcohol Use Disorder Part 2
Shanna Diaz, DO
University of New Mexico, NM

June 12, 2020

Tobacco Use Disorder
Peter Selby, MBBS
Center for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada

June 19, 2020

NO SESSION 

June 26, 2020

Models of Implementation
Panel Discussion

July 10, 2020

Cannabinoids and Cannabis Use Disorder
Jeanette Tetrault, MD
Yale University, CT

 

Next Series - July 21, 2020 - November 3, 2020

Dates for topics listed below subject to change based on presenter availability. 

Date

Topic

July 21, 2020

Overview of the Opioid Epidemic
Miriam Komaromy, MD (Curriculum Chair)
Grayken Center for Addiction, MA   
       

July 28, 2020

Recovery Management
Angela Colistra, PhD, LPC
Lehigh Valley Health Network, PA

August 4, 2020

Stigmatizing Language
Miriam Komaromy, MD (Curriculum Chair)
Grayken Center for Addiction, MA

August 11, 2020

Challenges in Office Management of OUD: Drug Screening
Rachel King, MD
South Boston Comm Health Center, MA

August 18, 2020

Motivational Interviewing, Part 1
Kenneth Saffier, MD
Contra Costa Regional Medical Center, CA

August 25, 2020

Motivational Interviewing, Part 2
Kenneth Saffier, MD
Contra Costa Regional Medical Center, CA

September 1, 2020

Buprenorphine and Naltrexone for Opioid Use Disorder
Miriam Komaromy, MD (Curriculum Chair)
Grayken Center for Addiction, MA   

September 8, 2020

Overdose Prevention & Harm Reduction
Alexander Walley, MD
Boston University, MA

September 15, 2020

Methadone
Peter Selby, MBBS
Center for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada

September 22, 2020

Drug Use in Pregnancy
Leslie Hayes, MD
Centro Family Health, NM

September 29, 2020

Treatment of SUDs in Adolescents
Catherine Friedman, MD
Warren Alpert Brown Medical School, MA

October 6, 2020

Alcohol Use Disorder Part 1
Shanna Diaz, MD
University of New Mexico, NM

October 13, 2020

Alcohol Use Disorder Part 2
Zwaantje Hamming, FNP-C, CARN-AP
University of New Mexico, NM

October 20, 2020

Tobacco Use Disorder
Peter Selby, MBBS
Center for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada

October 27, 2020

Cannabinoids and Cannabis Use Disorder
Jeanette Tetrault, MD
Yale University, CT

November 3, 2020

Models of Implementation
Panel Discussion

 

*Each 16-week series may be held on different days/times. ASAM will work with participants of the 40-Hour Program unable to attend sessions on the designated dates and times for alternative arrangements. 

How Does the FAME ECHO Model Work?

The model and project links expert specialist teams at an academic hub with primary care clinicians in local communities. Primary care clinicians, the spokes in our model, become part of a learning community, where they receive mentoring and feedback from specialists. Together, they manage patient cases so that patients get the care they need.

 

© 2015 Project ECHO

Components

The ASAM Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine 40-Hour Program is comprised of five activities (defined below) that together equal a total of 40 CME hours.  Click on the links below to learn more about each component of the program.