About Us

ASAM Staff

Penny S. Mills, MBA

PennyMills-www2

Executive Vice President / CEO
Executive Office

  • Executive Management
  • Board of Directors/Governance
  • Organizational Liaison

Phone: 301.547.4105

Email: pmills@ASAM.org

Carolyn C. Lanham, CAE

CarolynLanham-www2

Chief Operating Officer
Operations, Governance, Finance, IT and Membership/Chapter Relations Department

  • Finance, Budgets, and Investments
  • Internal Operations, Infrastructure and Human Resources
  • Membership/Chapter Relations and Ruth Fox Endowment

Phone: 301​.547​.4104

Email: clanham@ASAM.org

Arlene C. Deverman, CAE, CFRE

ArleneDeverman-www2

Chief Learning Officer
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • Strategic Direction for Education,Meetings and Development
  • Oversight of Medical Education Council, CME, MOC and Education Committees
  • Strategic Education Grants, Partnerships and Collaborations

Phone: 301.547.4117

Email: adeverman@ASAM.org

Bob Davis

BobDavis-www2

Vice President
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Overall Strategy for Marketing and Member Engagement
  • Brand Management, Marketing and Promotions
  • External Communications and Media Relations

Phone: 301.547.4112

Emailbdavis@ASAM.org

John W. Hawkins, CMP

JohnHawkins-www2

Director, Meetings and Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • ASAM Annual Conference and Hotel Logistics for Live Courses
  • Sponsors, Exhibitors, Corporate Round Table and Ruth Fox Endowment
  • Financial Oversight of Education Activities and Registration Oversight

Phone: 301.547.4113

Email: jhawkins@ASAM.org

Valerie M. Evans

ValerieEvans-www2b

Director, Membership & Chapter Relations

Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Member Recruitment and Retention
  • Member Benefits and Experience
  • Chapter Relations

Phone: 301.547.4108

Emailvevans@ASAM.org

Kelly M. Corredor

KellyCorredor

Director, Advocacy & Government Relations
Advocacy, Public Policy and Payer Relations Department

  • Advocacy and Public Policy
  • Payer Relations
  • External Public/Media Relations

Phone: 301.547.4111

Emailkcorredor@ASAM.org

Brendan McEntee

BrendanMcEntee-www2

Director, Quality & Science
Quality and Science Department

  • Strategic Direction and Support for Quality and Science Initiatives
  • Clinical Guidelines, Quality Improvement, Publications and Standards
  • ASAM Critiera and CONTINUUM™

Phone: 301.547.4110

Email: bmcentee@ASAM.org

Dawn C. Howell

DawnHowell-www2

Director, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses (Waiver Trainings) and PCSS-MAT Management
  • State of the Art Course in Addiction Medicine Course
  • Education Strategy, Special Projects and Grants

Phone: 301.547.4133

Email:dhowell@ASAM.org

Susan E. Awad, MA

SusanAwad-www2

Policy Advisor (part time)
Advocacy, Public Policy and Payer Relations Department

  • Advocacy and Public Policy
  • Payer Relations
  • Exernal Public/Media Relations

Phone: 301.547.4103

Emailsawad@ASAM.org

Matthew Bryant

MatthewBryant-www2

Director, Technology & Information Systems
Technology and Information Systems Department

  • Systems administration
  • Website administration
  • Helpdesk support

Phone: 301.547.4116

Email: mbryant@ASAM.org

Molly S. Mazuk

MollyMazuk-www2

Associate Director, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • Annual Conference & Pain & Addiction Course Management
  • Education Strategy, e-Learning Center & Education Survey/Evaluations/Analysis
  • Safe Opioid Prescribing Curriculum & Courses

Phone: 301.547.4127

Email: mmazuk@ASAM.org

Alexandra (Alli) M. Unger

AlliUnger-www2

Associate Director, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • 40-Hour Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine Curriculum and Workshop Management
  • Review Course in Addiction Medicine
  • Education Strategy, Grant Writing, Submission and Monitoring

Phone: .301.547.4129

Email: aunger@ASAM.org

Noushin Shariati

NoushinShariati-www2

Manager, Accounting
Administration and Finance Department

  • Accounts Payable & Receivable
  • Payroll and Benefits Administration
  • Budget Management

Phone: 301.547.4109

Emailnshariati@ASAM.org

Irina Vayner, MS

IrinaVayner-www2

Manager, Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • Corporate Giving & Grants
  • Corporate Round Table Stewardship
  • Exhibitor & Sponsor Relations

Phone: 301.547.4120

Email: ivayner@ASAM.org

Eric Harris, MBA, MPA

EricHarris-www

Manager, Membership & Chapter Relations
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Member Recruitment and Retention
  • Chapter Relations
  • Dues Reconciliation

Phone: 301.547.4114

Emaileharris@ASAM.org

Yemsrach Kidane, MA

YemiKidane-www

Manager, Quality & Science
Quality and Science Department

  • ASAM Textbooks and Peer-Reviewed Journal
  • Editor Relations and Support
  • Publication Production and Marketing Support

Phone: 301.547.4126

Emailykidane@ASAM.org

Brad Bachman

BradBachman-www2

Manager, State Advocacy and Government Relations
Advocacy, Public Policy and Payer Relations Department

  • State Legislative and Regulatory Advocacy
  • State Policy Research
  • Chapter and State Medical Society Relations

Phone: 301.547.4107

Emailbbachman@ASAM.org

Taleen Safarian

TaleenSafarian-www2

Manager, Quality & Science
Quality and Science Department

  • ASAM Quality and Practice Guidelines
  • ASAM Performance Measures
  • ASAM Criteria

Phone: 301.547.4123

Email: tsafarian@ASAM.org

Lindsey Fay, MS

LindseyFay-www2

Manager, Quality & Science
Quality and Science Department

  • Justice Involved Addiction Treatment Curriculum Development
  • Justice Focused Addiction Treatment Products
  • Justice Programs Customer and Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4136

Email: lfay@ASAM.org

Corey Barton, MPH

CoreyBarton

Manager, Private Sector Relations
Advocacy, Public Policy and Payer Relations Department

  • Payer and Pharmacy Relations
  • Reimbursement Policy and Payment Reform
  • Billing and Coding

Phone: 301.547.4106

Email: cbarton@ASAM.org

Jennifer L. Butchart

JenniferButchart-www2

Manager, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • Assists Chief Learning Officer with ASAM Collaborations and Partnerships
  • Special Projects and Maintenance of Certification (MOC)
  • NP / PA Waiver Training and Adolescent Substance Use Education

Phone: 301.547.4121

Emailjbutchart@ASAM.org

Amanda Weber

Amanda Weber

Manager, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • ASAM Review Course in Addiction Medicine
  • Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine Program and HRSA Grant
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4132

Email: aweber@ASAM.org

Connor Bellis

ConnorBellis-www2

Manager, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses (Waiver Trainings) and Ohio Grant Funded Programs
  • State of the Art Course in Addiction Medicine Course
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4122

Emailcbellis@ASAM.org

Olivia Huckaby

OliviaHuckaby-www2

Account Manager
Quality and Science Department

  • CONTINUUM Customer Service and Sales
  • ASAM Criteria Customer Service and Sales
  • ASAM Clinical Questions

Phone: 301.547.4134

Email: ohuckaby@ASAM.org

Matt Vandover

MattVandover-www2

Specialist, Membership and Office Operations
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Associate Membership
  • Membership Applications and Renewal
  • Member Service and Benefit Fulfillment

Phone: 301.547.4124

Email: mvandover@ASAM.org

Terri L. Beard

terrybeard_360

Specialist, Governance and Administration
Executive Office

  • Executive Office Support
  • Board of Directors Liaison
  • Governance Committees

Phone: 301.547.4125

Email: tbeard@ASAM.org

Mingo Grant, MS

MingoGrant

Specialist, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine Program and AHRQ grant
  • The ASAM Motivational Interviewing Workshop
  • Board Exam Study Tool (BEST) and Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4131

Email: mgrant@ASAM.org

Luke R. Waldron

LukeWaldron

Specialist, Digital Marketing & Promotions
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Digital Marketing and Analytics
  • Social Media and Advertising
  • Exhibits and Meetings

Phone: 301.547.4118

Emaillwaldron@ASAM.org

Erin Foxworthy

ErinFoxworthy-www2

Coordinator & Staff Editor, Marketing Content
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • ASAM Weekly and Digital Subscription Publications
  • Copywriting and Staff Digital Editor
  • ASAM Copyrights and Permissions

Phone: 301.547.4115

Email: efoxworthy@ASAM.org

Priya Maruthapillai

priyamaruthapillai

Graphic Designer
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Graphic Design
  • Print and procurement
  • Brand compliance 

Phone: 301.547.4128

Emailpmaruthapillai@ASAM.org

Connor Galvin

ConnorGalvin-www2

Coordinator, Advocacy, Policy and Payer Relations
Advocacy Department

  • Federal and State Advocacy Support
  • Policy Research and Analysis

Phone: 301.547.4135

Emailcgalvin@ASAM.org

Jennifer Brooks

jenbrooks

Coordinator, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses (Waiver Trainings)
  • PCSS-MAT and Special Projects for Waiver Trainngs
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4130

Email: jbrooks@ASAM.org

Jack Ryan Williams

jack

Coordinator, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • Safe Opioid Prescribing Curriculum & Courses
  • e-Learning Center & Education Survey/Evaluations/Analysis
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4137

Email: jwilliams@ASAM.org

Michelle L. Neitzey

MichelleNeitzey

Coordinator, Professional Development
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses (Waiver Trainings)
  • Grant Funded Programs and Special Projects for Waiver Trainings
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4139

Email: mneitzey@ASAM.org

Kelly Wallace

KellyWallace

Coordinator, Membership
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Membership Applications and Renewals
  • Member Service and Benefit Fulfillment
  • New Member On-Boarding
  • Online Membership Portal Support
  • Customer Support

Phone: 301.547.4138

Email: kwallace@ASAM.org

Sandy Metcalfe

SandyMetcalfe-www2

Consultant, ASAM CME Committee
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • CME Committee
  • CME Provider Events
  • ACCME & Reaccreditation

Phone: 301.656.3920

Emailsmetcalfe@ASAM.org