About Us

ASAM Staff

Penny S. Mills, MBA

PennyMills-www2

Executive Vice President / CEO
Executive Office

  • Executive Management
  • Board of Directors/Governance
  • Strategic Relations

Phone: 301.547.4105

Email: pmills@ASAM.org

Carolyn C. Lanham, CAE

CarolynLanham-www2

Chief Operating Officer
Executive Office

  • Finance, Budgets, and Investments
  • Governance, Operations, Infrastructure and Human Resources
  • Marketing, Membership and Engagement

Phone: 301.547.4104

Email: clanham@ASAM.org

Arlene C. Deverman, MA, CAE, CFRE

ArleneDeverman-www2

Chief Learning Officer
Education & Meetings Department

  • Strategic Direction for Education Curriculum and Meetings
  • Oversight of Medical Education Council, CME, MOC and Education Committees
  • Strategic Oversight for Education Grants, Collaborations and Partnerships

Phone: 301.547.4117

Email: adeverman@ASAM.org

Maureen Boyle, PhD

MaureenBoyle-www

Chief Quality and Science Officer
Quality and Science Department

  • Strategic Direction and Support for Quality and Science Initiatives
  • Clinical Guideline
  • Publications and Standards

Phone: 301.547.4103

Emailmboyle@ASAM.org

Bob Davis

BobDavis-www2

Vice President
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Overall Strategy for Marketing and Member Engagement
  • Brand Management, Marketing and Promotions
  • External Communications and Media Relations

Phone: 301.547.4112

Emailbdavis@ASAM.org

Valerie M. Evans

ValerieEvans-www

Senior Director, Governance and Operations

Governance and Operations Department

  • Governance
  • Internal Operations, Scholarships & Awards
  • Customer Service, including AMS

Phone: 301.547.4108

Emailvevans@ASAM.org

Kelly M. Corredor

KellyCorredor

Senior Director, Advocacy & Government Relations
Advocacy, Public Policy and Payer Relations Department

  • Advocacy and Public Policy
  • Payer Relations
  • External Public/Media Relations

Phone: 301.547.4111

Emailkcorredor@ASAM.org

Dawn C. Piotrowski

DawnHowell-www2

Director, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses (Waiver Trainings) and PCSS-MAT Management
  • Development/Grant Management and Special Projects
  • Education Strategy and Oversight of Criteria and State of the Art Courses

Phone: 301.547.4133

Email:dpiotrowski@ASAM.org

Veena Radhakrishnan, EdD

VeenaRadhakrishnan-www

Director, Learning Innovation
Education & Meetings Department

  • Strategic Direction for Online Learning
  • e-Learning Center
  • Instructional Design & Product Development

Phone: 301.547.4119

Email: vradhakrishnan@ASAM.org

Bill Liu

BillLiu-www

Director of Health Technology
Quality and Science Department

  • Strategic Direction for Health IT Portfolio and Roadmap
  • Improvements and Expansion of ASAM Software Products
  • Product Development and Implementation

Phone: 301.547.4110

Email: bliu@ASAM.org

Jennifer Clark

JenniferClark-www 

Director, Meetings
Education & Meetings Department

  • Live Meetings Logistics & Registration
  • Live Meetings Sponsors & Exhibitors
  • Hotel and Vendor Contracts & Financial Oversight of Live Events

Phone: 301.547.4113

Email: jclark@ASAM.org

Leah White, MPH

Director, Quality Improvement
Quality and Science Department

  • Oversees ASAM publications (including books, clinical guidelines, scientific journal, etc.)
  • Oversees the ASAM Level of Care Certification program
  • Oversees copyright and permissions for The ASAM Criteria

Phone: 240.235.0808

Email: lwhite@ASAM.org

Anna Pagano, PhD

Director, Science
Quality and Science Department

  • Work with ASAM experts to develop and implement strategic priorities for an ASAM science initiative
  • Build relationships with scientific partners and stakeholders
  • Support research on the ASAM CONTINUUM database
  • Evaluate the ASAM CONTINUUM algorithm to support ongoing product improvement

Phone: 240.235.0810

Email: apagano@ASAM.org

Matthew Bryant

MatthewBryant-www2

Director, IT Operations
Governance and Operations Department

  • Internal systems administration
  • Staff helpdesk support
  • Website integrations

Phone: 301.547.4116

Email: mbryant@ASAM.org

Molly S. Mazuk

MollyMazuk-www2

Associate Director, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • Annual Conference and Pain & Addiction Curriculum
  • Education Strategy, e-Learning Center & Education Survey/Evaluations/Analysis
  • Pain Management and Opioids Courses

Phone: 301.547.4127

Email: mmazuk@ASAM.org

Alexandra (Alli) M. Krouse

ali-unger-C

Associate Director, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • 40-Hour Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine Curriculum & Workshop
  • Review Course and Motivational Interviewing Course
  • Education Strategy,Implementation of select Education Grants

Phone: 301.547.4129

Email: akrouse@ASAM.org

Jasmine D. Nichols, MA

Associate Director, Learning Innovation
Education & Meetings Department

  • Faculty Development
  • e-Learning Center
  • Instructional Design & Product Development

Phone: 240.235.0811

Email: jnichols@ASAM.org

Nailah Harrell

Associate Director, Health Technology
Quality and Science Department

Phone: 301.547.4107

Email: nharrell@ASAM.org

Corey Barton, MPH

CoreyBarton

Senior Manager, Private Sector Relations
Advocacy, Public Policy and Payer Relations Department

  • Payer and Pharmacy Relations
  • Reimbursement Policy and Payment Reform
  • Billing and Coding

Phone: 301.547.4106

Email: cbarton@ASAM.org

Connor Bellis

ConnorBellis-www2

Senior Manager, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Criteria Course
  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses (Waiver Trainings) for Ohio
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4122

Emailcbellis@ASAM.org

Yemsrach Kidane, MA, PMI-PMP

YemiKidane-www

Senior Manager, Science and Dissemination
Quality and Science Department

  • ASAM Textbooks and Peer-Reviewed Journal
  • Editor Relations and Support
  • Publication Production and Marketing Support

Phone: 301.547.4126

Emailykidane@ASAM.org

Amanda Weber, MS

Amanda Weber

Senior Manager, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • Maintenance of Certification (MOC) and Certification Pathways Questions
  • Acquisition and Management of CME/CE Accreditation and Credits
  • Coordinator of Education Member/Customer Service

Phone: 301.547.4132

Email: aweber@ASAM.org

Becca Branum

BeccaBranum-www

Senior Manager, State Advocacy and Government Relations
Advocacy, Public Policy and Payer Relations Department

  • State Legislative and Regulatory Advocacy
  • State Policy Research
  • Chapter and State Medical Society Relations

Phone: 301.547.4138

Email: bbranum@ASAM.org

Noushin Shariati

NoushinShariati-www2

Manager, Accounting
Administration and Finance Department

  • Accounts Payable & Receivable
  • Payroll and Benefits Administration
  • Budget Management

Phone: 301.547.4109

Emailnshariati@ASAM.org

Jennifer L. Butchart

JenniferButchart-www2

Manager, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses (Waiver Trainings) and PCSS-MAT
  • NP / PA Waiver Training and Special Projects
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4121

Emailjbutchart@ASAM.org

Taleen Safarian

TaleenSafarian-www2

Manager, Science and Dissemination
Quality and Science Department

  • ASAM Quality and Practice Guidelines
  • ASAM Performance Measures
  • ASAM Criteria

Phone: 301.547.4123

Email: tsafarian@ASAM.org

Olivia Huckaby

OliviaHuckaby-www2

Manager, Health Technology
Quality and Science Department

  • CONTINUUM Customer Service and Sales
  • ASAM Criteria Customer Service and Sales
  • ASAM Clinical Questions

Phone: 301.547.4134

Email: ohuckaby@ASAM.org

Rebecca Pyuzza, MPH

RebeccaPyuzza-www 

Manager, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • Addiction Education for the Criminal Justice System
  • The ASAM Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 240.235.0805

Email: rpyuzza@ASAM.org

Mingo Grant, MS

MingoGrant

Manager, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Review Course in Addiction Medicine
  • Assist with Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine and related grants
  • Board Exam Study Tool (BEST) and Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4131

Email: mgrant@ASAM.org

Christine Merrifield, MBA

Christine-Merrifield

Manager, Marketing
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Media relations and outreach
  • Marketing promotions
  • Ruth Fox Endowment and Annual Giving

Phone: 301.547.4140

Email: cmerrifield@ASAM.org

Lex Quickel

LexQuickel-www

Manager, Health Technology
Quality & Science Department

  • ASAM CONTINUUM Assessment Representative
  • ASAM Criteria Course Planning Contact
  • ASAM Criteria Clinical Question Support

Phone: 301.547.4141

Email: lquickel@ASAM.org

Ian Brost

Ian-Brost-www 

Manager, Meetings & Exhibits
Education & Meetings Department

  • Manage Exhibitors & Supporters
  • Manage Live Meeting Registration
  • Assist with all Meeting Logistics

Phone: 240.235.0802

Email: ibrost@ASAM.org

Terri L. Beard

terrybeard_360

Specialist, Governance and Administration
Governance and Operations Department

  • Executive Office Support
  • Board of Directors Liaison
  • Governance Committees

Phone: 301.547.4125

Email: tbeard@ASAM.org

Connor Galvin

ConnorGalvin-www2

Specialist, Federal Advocacy and Policy
Advocacy Department

  • Federal Advocacy Support
  • Policy Research and Analysis
  • Department Support

Phone: 301.547.4135

Emailcgalvin@ASAM.org

Katrina Ransmeier

KatrinaRansmeier-www

Specialist, Customer Service
Governance and Operations Department

  • Customer/Member Service
  • General Office Support
  • Receptionist

Phone: 301.547.4124

Emailkransmeier@ASAM.org

David Bresnahan

BresnahanDavid-www2

Specialist, Quality Improvement
Quality & Science Department

  • Justice Programs
  • ASAM Level of Care Certification
  • ASAM Criteria Derivative Products Support

Phone: 301.547.4142

Email: dbresnahan@ASAM.org

Matt Trebon, MA

MattTrebon-www

Specialist, Membership and Chapter Relations
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Member Service and Benefit Fulfillment
  • Chapter Relations and Event Coordination
  • Database Specialist

Phone: 240.235.0801

Email: mtrebon@ASAM.org

Payton Clark

PaytonClark

Graphic Designer
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Creates Digital and Print Designs
  • Manages Printer Vendor Relations 

Phone: 301.547.4128

Emailpclark@ASAM.org

Kiersten M. Donovan

KierstenDonovan

Specialist, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses
  • Assist Hosts, Secure Faculty, Track Locations & Data
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4130

Email: kdonovan@ASAM.org

Anna Garbar

AnnaGarber-www

Specialist, Health Technology
Quality & Science Department

Phone: 301.547.4136

Email: agarbar@ASAM.org

Jan Simpson

JanSimpson-www

Specialist, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • Education Program Support
  • CME/MOC Member Questions
  • Customer/Member Service

Phone: 240.235.0807

Email: jsimpson@ASAM.org

Sarah H. Pocock

SarahPocock-www

Specialist, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine
  • The ASAM Motivational Interviewing Courses
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4139

Email: spocock@ASAM.org

Talia Loeb

Specialist, Email Marketing
Marketing, Membership & Engagement Department

  • Email marketing
  • Data analytics
  • Marketing support

Phone: 301.547.4115

Email: tloeb@ASAM.org

Adham Alayash

AdhamAlayash-www

Coordinator, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • Pain Management & Opioids Course
  • Assists with e-Learning Center, Survey/Evaluations/Analysis
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 301.547.4137

Email: aalayash@ASAM.org

Zachary Semple

ZachSemple-www

Coordinator, Advocacy & Government Relations
Advocacy & Government Relations Department

  • Payer Relations
  • State Advocacy & Government Relations
  • Public Policy

Phone: 301.547.4120

Email: zsemple@ASAM.org

Maggie Dougherty

MaggieDougherty-www

Coordinator, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses
  • Assist Hosts, Secure Faculty, Track Locations & Data
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 240.235.0804

Email: mdougherty@ASAM.org

Hannah Bauer, MPH

HannahBauer-www

Coordinator, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Criteria Course
  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 240.235.0806

Email: hbauer@ASAM.org

Shelbi Stovall, MA

ShelbiStovall-www

Coordinator, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Fundamentals of Addiction Medicine
  • The ASAM Motivational Interviewing
  • Education Program & Customer Service Support

Phone: 240.235.0809

Email: sstovall@ASAM.org

Violet Moloney

Coordinator, Professional Development
Education & Meetings Department

  • The ASAM Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder Courses
  • Assist Hosts, Secure Faculty, Track Locations & Data
  • Education Program Support

Phone: 240.235.0803

Email: vmoloney@ASAM.org

Susan E. Awad, MA

SusanAwad-www2

Policy Advisor (part time)
Advocacy, Public Policy and Payer Relations Department

  • Advocacy and Public Policy
  • Payer Relations
  • Exernal Public/Media Relations

Emailsawad@ASAM.org

Sandy Metcalfe

SandyMetcalfe-www2

Consultant, ASAM CME Committee
Education, Meetings & Development Department

  • CME Committee
  • CME Provider Events
  • ACCME & Reaccreditation

Phone: 301.656.3920

Emailsmetcalfe@ASAM.org