ASAM Designations

Recognizing Board Certification- ASAM's FASAM Designation

ASAM’s new Fellow membership category gives recognition to and raises awareness of ASAM members who are board certified addiction specialists.

ASAM Fellows are able to use the FASAM designation after their name and use the special ASAM Fellow logo on certain pre-authorized items.

To qualify for the FASAM designation, physicians must be members of ASAM for two consecutive years and currently certified in Addiction Medicine by the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM) OR in Addiction Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN).

The FASAM designation is contingent on the physician's membership in ASAM not lapsing.

 For more information, please click here.

Earn a Prestigious Distinction - Become an ASAM Distinguished Fellow

The respected DFASAM title is only granted every other year to select ASAM physician members for their significant contributions to the Society and to the field of addiction medicine. Join the distinguished ranks of some of your colleagues by receiving recognition for your considerable professional efforts. The application will be available Fall 2017.

Current ASAM Distinguished Fellows

To qualify to become a Distinguished Fellow of ASAM, you must meet rigorous criteria such as being a member for at least five consecutive years, giving significant service to the Society, and making considerable contributions in certain areas.

  • About ASAM Distinguished Fellows

  • Criteria to Apply for Distinguished Fellow Status

  • Review Process

  • Significance of Becoming an ASAM Distinguished Fellow