2012 Medical-Scientific Conference

The American Society of Addiction Medicine hosted its 43rd Medical-Scientific Conference at the Hilton Atlanta Hotel, April 19-22, 2012. This conference featured scientific symposia, clinically oriented courses and workshops, as well as presentations of submitted papers. Special sessions will be presented by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) and The Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). The conference included over 900 attendees and over 70 exhibiting companies and organizations.

ASAM's e-Live Learning Center now offers over 100 hours of new material from the 2012 Annual Medical-Scientific Conference, Ruth Fox Course for Physicians and Pain and Addiction: Common Threads XIII. Registered attendees from these courses will have complimentary access to all sessions as part of registration fees from the conference. People who did not attend the live course may purchase these sessions and courses by visiting the e-LLC located on www.asam.org.  Look for the Free Session icon to identify sponsored sessions that have been made available at no charge!

Click here to read Med-Sci Daily News live coverage from the 43rd Medical-Scientific Conference.

ASAM's leadership thanks everyone for their attendance, support and contribution in making this year's 43rd Medical-Scientific Conference a success.

Continuing Medical Education Credits

The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) designates this live activity for a maximum of 21 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits (s)™.  Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.Other Continuing Education Credits


The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM's) Continuing Medical Education (CME) has been approved for renewal of certification by the APA College of Professional Psychology. ASAM CME credits may be applied toward the APA's "Certificate of Proficiency in the Treatment of Alcohol and Other Psychoactive Substance Use Disorders."


ASAM has been approved as a National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) Education Provider, #152. All applying for NAADAC credit should report their hours directly to NAADAC.


Non-physician participants will receive a certificate of attendance upon completion of the activity and an on-line evaluation confirming their participation. Participants should submit his/her certificate of attendance to their professional organization/institute.


Opening Scientific Plenary & the R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award and Lecture - Friday, April 20, 2012

Richard Saitz, MD, MPH, FACP, FASAM 
"Screening and Brief Intervention for Unhealthy Alcohol and Other Drug Use: Where the Evidence is...and isn't"

Wilson M. Compton, MD, MPE, National Institute on Drug Abuse

Peter J. Delany, PhD, LCSW-C, Substance Abuse Mental Health Services Adminstration

Kenneth R. Warren, PhD, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

Pre-Conference Courses - Thursday, April 19, 2012

Ruth Fox Course for Physicians
Pain and Addiction: Common Threads XIII
NIDA Blending Initiative Knowledge Exchange Meeting

Policy Plenary: Addressing Prescription Drug Abuse: Role of the Physician in Counteracting Diversion, Misuse & Addiction - Saturday, April 21, 2012

Council Chair: Herbert Malinoff, MD, FACP, FASAM
Committee Co-Chairs: Mark Kraus, MD,FASAM; Scott Teitelbaum, MD, FASAM
Legislative Advocacy Committee Co-Chairs: A. Kenison Roy, III, MD, FASAM; Kelly Cark, MD
Plenary Keynote Speaker: Ileana Arias, PhD, Deputy Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Plenary Panelists: Mark Kraus, MD, FASAM; Herbert Malinoff, MD, FACP, FASAM; Scott Teitelbaum, MD, FASAM; A. Kenison Roy, III MD, FASAM; Kelly Clark, MD

2012 Awards Luncheon - Saturday, April 21, 2012

R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Lecture Award: Richard Saitz, MD, MPH, FACP, FASAM
The John P. McGovern Award: David R. Gastfriend, MD
Public Policy Award: A. Thomas McLellan, PhD
Medical-Scientific Program Committee Award: J. Aaron Johnson, PhD
ASAM Media Award: William & Judith Moyers
Young Investigator Award: Anne Neumann, PhD, MA
Annual Award: Elizabeth F. Howell, MD, DFAPA, FASAM
Annual Award: Gerald D. Shulman, MA, MAC, FACATA
Presidential Award:Bonnie B. Wilford, MS
Ruth Fox Scholarship: Dustin DeYoung, MD; Brian Harahan,MD,PhD; Karsten Lunze, MD, MPH;  Chinyere Ogbonna, MD, MPH; Joan M. Striebel, MD; Christen Tibbs, MD
SAMHSA Science and Service Award:  Marc Fishman, MD; Patricia Pade, MD; Joseph O. Merrill MD, MPH; Amanda Wilson, MD

Future and Past ASAM Med-Sci Conferences

  • Future Conferences

  • Past Conferences