

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Kerin Miller, (301) 656-3920, kmiller@asam.org

The Hungry Heart Receives 2015 ASAM Media Award

AUSTIN, TX, April 25, 2015 – The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) will honor Bess O'Brien with the 2015 Media Award for her documentary, *The Hungry Heart* at a special lunch during the 46th ASAM Annual Conference on April 25, 2015 in Austin, Texas.

The Media Award recognizes a newspaper, magazine, television, radio or website story, column, film or program that improves the public's understanding of addiction, addiction treatment, recovery, or the profession of addiction medicine.

The Hungry Heart has been recognized for its intimate look at the often hidden world of prescription drug addiction through the world of Vermont Pediatrician Fred Holmes who works with patients struggling with this disease.

ASAM President, Stuart Gitlow, MD, MPH, MBA, DFAPA, will individually present Ms. O'Brien with her award during the 2015 Awards Luncheon. Other awardees are being acknowledged for their service and contributions to the advancement of addiction medicine, public policy and education.

Those attending the lunch will have the opportunity to draw inspiration from the outstanding accomplishments presented by this year's ASAM annual award winners and to celebrate the 2014 Diplomates of the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM).

###

The <u>American Society of Addiction Medicine</u> is a national medical specialty society of over 3,200 physicians and associated professionals. Its mission is to increase access to and improve the quality of addiction treatment, to educate physicians, and other health care providers and the public, to support research and prevention, to promote the appropriate role of the physician in the care of patients with addictive disorders, and to establish Addiction Medicine as a specialty recognized by professional organizations, governments, physicians, purchasers and consumers of health care services and the general public. ASAM was founded in 1954, and has had a seat in the American Medical Association House of Delegates since 1988. Follow ASAM on Twitter: @ASAMOrg